2023 East Africa Cohort

WomenLift Health has selected the inspiring leaders below to participate in the second East Africa Cohort of the Leadership Journey, a fully-funded leadership initiative designed to support women through the challenges and opportunities of advancing to senior leadership positions in global health.

Akaco Ekirapa

Akaco Ekirapa

Health Team Leader/ Health Adviser
Foreign, Commonwealth Development Office (British High Commission, Nairobi)

Alida Ngwije

Senior Program Manager
Clinton Health Access Initiative

Amisa Rashid

Founder and Executive Director
Nivishe Foundation

Angélique Mugirente

Angelique Mugirente

Community Based Maternal Newborn and Child (CBMNCH)Technical Coordinator

Anne Muendi Musuva

Anne Musuva

Regional Director, East and Southern Africa

Basiliana Emidi

Basiliana Emidi

Principal Research Scientist
National Institute for Medical Research, Tanzania

Beatrice Paul Mushi

Beatrice Mushi

Program Manager
MUHAS-ORCI-UCSF Cancer Collaboration

Beth Kangwana

Beth Kangwana

Executive Director
Population Council- Kenya

Carolyne Njeri Njuguna

Carolyne Njuguna

East Africa Hub Director & Kenya Country Director

Cecilia Akatukwasa_

Cecilia Akatukwasa

Regional Qualitative Research Coordinator
Infectious Diseases Research Collaboration

Chonge Amir Kitojo

Chonge Kitojo

Malaria Project Management Specialist

Doreen Ondo

Doreen Ondo

Program Officer PMTCT/DR
Ministry of Health Uganda

Elizabeth Awuor Oele

Elizabeth Oele

Epidemiologist/Grants and Sponsored Programs Lead
Kisumu County Department of Health

Emmily Koiti Modi

Executive Director and Medical Doctor
South Sudanese Women in Medicine (SSWIM) and Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)

Ethel Makila

Director for Communications Advocacy and Policy

Florence Sibomana_

Florence Sibomana

Senior Program Officer on NCDs

Idyoro Joseph Ojukwu

Idyoro Ojukwu

Resident Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Jackline AKinyi Oluoch Aridi

Jackline Aridi

Faculty /Director
Strathmore University

Janet Muriuki

Janet Muriuki

Acting Senior Director Health Workforce Development
IntraHealth International

Justine Tumusiime

Research Coordinator

Khizra Syed

Khizra Syed

Head - Digital health transformation
Department of Health, Kisumu County

Marie Grace Sandra Musabwasoni

Marie Grace Sandra Musabwasoni

Assistant Lecturer
University of Rwanda

Mary Josephine Mbidde

Mary Josephine Mbidde

Senior Technical Advisor, Malaria
The AIDS Support Organization (TASO)

Millicent Alooh

Millicent Alooh

Regional director, NEST BMET implementation
Rice University

Rose Aliano

Rose Aliano

Assistant District Health Officer
Ngora District Local Government

Sarah Kutika Nyagabona

Sarah Kutika Nyagabona

Clinical Oncologist and Researcher
Muhimbili National Hospital

Stella Nyamtondo Mujaya

Stella Mujaya

Country Director (Data.FI Project) and Country Representative (Palladium)

Dr Sylvia Vito

Sylvia Vito

Africa Head
Eva Pharma International

Sylvia Wamuhu Mbirwe

Sylvia Wamuhu

Reproductive Health Director
Population Services Kenya

Valentine Dushimiyimana

Valentine Dushimiyimana

Ag. Strategic information Specialist
Rwanda Biomedical Centre/Research Innovation and Data Science Division

Stay In Touch